2022 Selection Committee

Jill Anholt

Artist and principal of Jill Anholt Studio, Anholt is recognized nationally and internationally for her public realm artworks that engage and activate themes of urban sustainability and placemaking. Through her practice and process, which is rooted in an education based in both sculpture and architecture, she explores hidden stories, systems, and conditions of a particular place, which she weaves into dynamic spatial installations that invite active engagement with a viewer. Anholt’s built work often incorporates illumination and interactivity and ranges from smaller scale interpretive features to complex, integrated civic projects for municipalities and developments across North America.

Grant Fahlgren

Fahlgren is a member of Wabigoon Lake Ojibway Nation, Chair and founding member of the Reconciliation Advisory Committee of the Canadian Society ofLandscape Architects, and a Frank Knox Fellow and Fulbright Student at Harvard GSD. He received a Bachelor of Environmental Design from the University of Manitoba and Master of Landscape Architecture from UBC, where his thesis focused on the potential of traditional knowledge to mitigate impacts of sea-level rise. In 2015, he was named the first Canadian National Olmsted Scholar by the Landscape Architecture Foundation. The award has supported the expansion of his research on Indigenous adaptations to climate change and informs his work with Indigenous communities as well as his contributions to the Canadian National Adaptation Strategy.

Tudor Radulescu

Radulescu is co-founder of KANVA, a Montreal-based multidisciplinary architectural firm. His work is at the forefront of thinking, imagining, drawing and constructing collective space. For over twenty years, Radulescu has been leading a team of dynamic architects, artfully maintaining a balance between the theoretical and practical aspects of the profession and seeking to question and transform the built environment. Each of his projects are engaging, memorable and sensitive to the human experience and to contemporary culture. Through his work at KANVA, he has earned numerous honours, publications, awards and distinctions.

Blair Satterfield

Satterfield is Chair of Architecture at UBC SALA, where he teaches design and design media. He is also founder and director of UBC’s HiLo Lab, and co-founding principal with Marc Swackhamer of the research design collaborative HouMinn Practice. HiLo and HouMinn have been published and exhibited widely and have garnered numerous awards for design, including R&D Awards from Architect magazine, Core77, ACSA, and ID Magazine. Satterfield’s work has also won multiple AIA awards for architecture and urbanism. HiLo Lab, collaborating with Ottawa based YOW+, is one of four teams shortlisted to represent Canada at the 2023 Venice Biennale of Architecture.

Brigitte Shim

Shim is a founding principal at Shim-Sutcliffe Architects, one of Canada’s most innovative architectural practices with an international reputation for masterful designs that bridge architecture, landscape, interiors, furniture, lighting and hardware. Shim is also a professor at the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design at the University of Toronto. She is a Fellow of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (FRAIC), an Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (Hon. FAIA), and an elected member of the Royal Canadian Academy (RCA). In 2013, Shim was awarded the Order of Canada along with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. In 2021, Shim and partner A. Howard Sutcliffe won the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s Gold Medal.